Debian/Ubuntu apt repository changes

The Arvados project has reorganized its package repositories for Debian and Ubuntu.

The layout of the repositories has changed. The new repository URLs are:

Debian 10 (“buster”) deb buster main
Debian 9 (“stretch”) deb stretch main
Ubuntu 18.04 (“bionic”) deb bionic main
Ubuntu 16.04 (“xenial”) deb xenial main

The repository URLs for older, no longer supported distributions have also changed:

Debian 8 (“jessie”) deb jessie main
Debian 7 (“wheezy”) deb wheezy main
Ubuntu 14.04 (“trusty”) deb trusty main
Ubuntu 12.04 (“precise”) deb precise main

If you installed Arvados before 2020-12-22 on a Debian/Ubuntu system using the Arvados package repositories, you need to update your apt config, because apt-get update will print output similar to this:

  # apt-get update
  Err buster/main amd64 Packages                 
    404  Not Found
  W: Failed to fetch  404  Not Found

  E: Some index files failed to download. They have been ignored, or old ones used instead.

After updating your /etc/sources.list.d/arvados.list file, it is necessary to run apt-get update.

1 Like